Arizona Child Support Age Limit
DUE TO COVID-19 AND OUR NEED TO ENSURE THE HEALTH OF OUR CLIENTS, ALL INITIAL CLIENT CONSULTATIONS WILL BE CONDUCTED BY PHONE. YOU MAY CALL US AT (480)305-8300 TO SCHEDULE A TELEPHONE CALL WITH ONE OF OUR EXPERIENCED FAMILY LAW ATTORNEYS.
One of the most common concerns after a divorce is when child support payments will end. Stated differently, what is the Arizona child support age limit?
Some people are worried about life changes that have made child support payments or spousal support an impossibility to maintain as designated in the original divorce decree.
In other cases, parents may not have discussed an end to child support payments.
Some people ask whether there is an age limit on child support in Arizona?
Does the order to pay child support eventually expire?
And, if so, what age is the expiration date?
As you may know, parents are required by law to financially support their children.
But it is important to know your rights regarding when your Arizona child support obligation is fulfilled.
For parents of multiple children, there will be multiple dates on which the child support obligation will decrease and eventually (when the last child becomes of age) expire completely.
But just as important as knowing your rights is remembering that you must follow the procedure as required by the Arizona Child Support Guidelines to protect your rights as a parent and terminate your child support obligation at the appropriate time and in the correct manner.
Age Limit for Child Support in Arizona
In Arizona, a parent’s obligation to pay child support terminates or “expires” on the last day of the month in which the child turns 18 years old unless the child is still in high school.
If the child is still in high school when they turn 18, the parent’s obligation to pay child support continues until the child graduates from high school or turns 19 years old.
Exceptions to these guidelines can be made for special needs children who are unable to support themselves due to their disability and who, therefore, need additional time in the home with the financial support of their parents.
If you have a child order or Order of Assignment that was entered after January 1st, 2005, it most likely contains the date on which the child support order automatically terminates or expires.
But even if the date is listed, it is still the parent’s responsibility to make sure the child support order and Wage Assignment are stopped.
Unpaid child support or child support in arrears is still due even if the child has reached an age of majority and/or the child support order has been terminated.
Parents paying support for multiple children will need to file a Petition to terminate child support when each child reaches the age of 18 and graduates high school.
It is not, generally speaking, automatically lowered.
If you have questions about ending child support, you should seriously consider contacting the attorneys at Hildebrand Law, PC. Our Arizona child support and family law attorneys have over 100 years of combined experience successfully representing clients in child support and family law cases.
Our family law firm has earned numerous awards such as US News and World Reports Best Arizona Family Law Firm, US News and World Report Best Divorce Attorneys, “Best of the Valley” by Arizona Foothills readers, and “Best Arizona Divorce Law Firms” by North Scottsdale Magazine.
Call us today at (480)305-8300 or reach out to us through our appointment scheduling form to schedule your personalized consultation and turn your Arizona child support case around today.
Arizona Family Law Attorneys in Scottsdale and Tucson Arizona
Other Articles About Child Support in Arizona
- Arizona Child Support Calculator
- Arizona Uniform Interstate Family Support Act Statutes
- Arizona Child Support
- Back Child Support in Arizona
- Calculating Income for Child Support in Arizona
- Child Support and an Unemployed Parent in Arizona
- Child Support Enforcement in Arizona
- Domesticate Child Support Order in Arizona
- How is Child Support Calculated in Arizona
- How is Income Calculated for Child Support in Arizona
- How to Enforce a Child Support Order in Arizona
- How To Enforce Child Support in Arizona
- How to Make Child Support Payments in Arizona
- How to Modify Child Support Order in Arizona
- Modification of Child Support in Arizona
- Modify or Enforce Other State Support Order in Arizona
- Prescott Arizona Modification of Child Support
- Registering Support Order From Another State In Arizona
- The Standard Procedure to Modify Child Support in Arizona
- What is a Wage Assignment in Arizona
- What Is Considered Gross Income for Arizona Child Support in Arizona
- What is Included in an Arizona Child Support Order
- Modification of Child Support When Neither Parent Lives in Arizona
Chris Hildebrand wrote the information on this page about the Arizona child support age limit to ensure everyone has access to information about child support laws in Arizona. Chris is a divorce and child support attorney at Hildebrand Law, PC. He has over 24 years of Arizona family law experience and has received multiple awards, including US News and World Report “Top Arizona Divorce Attorneys”, Phoenix Magazine “Top Divorce Law Firms”, and Arizona Foothills Magazine “Best of the Valley” award. He believes the policies and procedures he uses to get his clients through a divorce should all be guided by the principles of honesty, integrity, and actually caring about what his clients are going through in a child support case.